Outback Theatre for Young People began in 1989 working from the back of a ute.

In 1992, Outback Theatre became a full-time project of South West Arts before incorporating as a standalone arts organisation in 2006, and then becoming an Australian company limited by guarantee two years later.

In 2009 OTYP were recognised by the Australia Council as an outstanding youth arts company offering young people the opportunity to participate in and develop professional theatre practice, and awarded triennial program funding.

Today, Outback Theatre for Young People receives multi-year funding from the NSW State Government through Create NSW and significant project funding from the Australia Council for the Arts.

Company highlights include: Wide Open Road, a partnership with PACT Youth Theatre which connected rural and city young artists and performed at both Hay’s Tupra Woolshed, and the Sydney Opera House; Eyes to the Floor, written by Alana Valentine for OTYP, performed at the Hay Gaol Museum and Griffith Regional Theatre; Ties that Bind, which brought together young people from Deniliquin, Finley and Barham in a physical theatre and short film project which had performances in the three communities as well as at the ATYP Theatre in Sydney; WaterWays, a circus extravaganza involving sixty young performers in Balranald; Under My Skin live performance and short film made in Ivanhoe; Alive and Kicking, a cross platform, visual and live arts project, that engaged over 200 young people in Hay, resulting in outcomes across digital media, live performance, and installation; and Secret Places: The Connections Project, in partnership with Powerhouse Youth Theatre, which saw culturally diverse young people from Griffith and Western Sydney collaborate in a theatre and new media project.

Today, Outback Theatre for Young People is a thriving company focused on engaging regional young people in the arts. We receive core funding from Create NSW and project funding from a range of government and private sources including Australia Council for the Arts, Ministry for the Arts and philanthropic foundations.